Manage drafts and published content
This article describes how you can save drafts of your content while you work, then publish content when it's ready for visitors.
In This Article
Overview
Each piece of content in your guide—items, exhibitions, tours, and events—exists in one of two states: draft or published.
- Draft content is never available to visitors. You can edit your material, link pieces of content together, and prepare your home screen and map without worrying that your visitors will see unfinished content. You can use the CMS or the app to preview how your changes will look. When a piece of content is ready for visitors, you can publish it.
- Published content is available in the Bloomberg Connects guide and can be enjoyed by visitors.
You control the visibility of each piece of content, so you can keep your guide up to date with confidence and flexibility, even when things change often.
Because you don't need to publish all your updates at the same time, you can work quickly and flexibly, whether your team has 1 person or 20. For example, you can prepare for an upcoming show while your colleague updates the gallery images in your permanent content. Or, while you create a new audio tour, you can publish a fix for a typo that you find.
Save new content as a draft
You can save new content as a draft, so you can work on it before visitors can see it.
To save your content as a draft, click Save Draft at the top of the form.

The content saves. Throughout the CMS, a "draft" label appears below the content's title, so you know that visitors can't see it. You can add the draft content to your home screen or map, but visitors won't see it until you publish the content.

You can preview draft content to check your work. When you're ready to make the content available to visitors, publish it.
Publish content
You can publish content to make it available to visitors.
To publish one piece of content, click Publish at the top of the form.

To publish multiple pieces of content, select every draft you want to publish, and then click Publish in the bulk actions menu.

The content is published. Visitors can find it in your guide.
After content is published, you can make changes and click Save to update the information visitors see. If you need to update the content and don't want visitors to see the changes yet, unpublish it. Then make your changes and save it as a draft. When you're ready, publish the content again.
Note: During onboarding, your guide is not yet live in the Bloomberg Connects app, so published content remains hidden from visitors. For more, see the Content drafts during onboarding section of this article.
Unpublish content
You can unpublish content to remove it from your guide. Unpublishing content can be temporary (like if you need to update previously published material) or permanent (like if you need to take down old material).
There are several ways to unpublish content:
-
At the top of the content form, click the more actions menu (⫶), then select Unpublish.

-
In your list of content, click the more actions menu (⫶), then select Unpublish. You can also select every piece of content that you want to unpublish, and then click Unpublish in the bulk actions menu.


- On the content form for tours, exhibitions, and events, you can choose whether the content should be automatically unpublished at the end of the display period. For more, see Automatically unpublish old content.
The content is unpublished and becomes a draft. Throughout the CMS, a "draft" label appears below the content's title, so you know that visitors can't see it. You can edit and republish the content as needed.
Note: If you added the content to your home screen or map, unpublishing it doesn't remove the content from those sections of the CMS. It only hides the content from visitors.
Delete content
You can delete draft or published content to permanently remove it from your guide and CMS content library.
There are two ways to delete content:
-
At the top of the content form, click the more actions menu (⫶) and select Delete. Then, confirm your action in the window that appears.

-
In the list of content, click the more actions menu (⫶), then select Delete.

The content is deleted. It is permanently removed from the app and CMS.
Filter by content state
You can focus your work on in-progress content by filtering your content pages to show drafts only.
At the top of the content page, in the filter that appears next to the search bar, select Drafts.

The list is filtered. The filter resets to show all content when you go to a different content screen.
Content drafts during onboarding
Content drafts support flexible and dynamic work from the start.
Visitors won't see any of your content until you and your onboarding team are ready to add your guide to the Connects app. Even so, it's a good idea to make big changes in a draft, and then publish the content when it's ready.
During onboarding, publishing content signals to the CMS that the content is ready for a basic automated check for essential information. And, when you enter the content review and copyediting stages, your editing team will know to focus on published content.
When your guide is added to the app, visitors will be able to discover all published content through your home screen, map, lookup numbers, QR codes, and search.
FAQs
What does the "private" label next to my organization's name mean?

During onboarding, your guide is completely hidden from visitors. This label is a reminder that your content is only accessible to you and your colleagues, even after you begin publishing content. The "private" label disappears after you and your onboarding manager agree to add your guide to the app.
When I publish an Exhibition I see a confirmation message. What happens if I uncheck this box?

By default, when you publish or unpublish an exhibition or tour, we assume that you want to publish or unpublish all included items as well.
Uncheck this box if you don't want to change the items in the exhibition. Items that are saved as drafts stay drafts.
Because all content is independent, you see a similar confirmation message when you publish or unpublish any exhibition or tour. For example, you can publish an exhibition without publishing all of its items or unpublish a tour without unpublishing all of its items (stops).
Is draft content labeled as "draft" in the in-browser preview or app internal mode?
No, not yet. When you preview the internal version of your guide, draft content and published content appear together. When you preview the visitor version of your guide, only published content appears.
Content is labeled in the guide export.



